Press Release

IACHR Hails Signing of Agreement for a Ceasefire in Colombia

June 27, 2016

   Contact info

María Isabel Rivero
IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9001

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) hails the signing of the “Agreement on a bilateral and definitive ceasefire and cessation of hostilities and the laying down of arms” between the government of the State of Colombia and the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia-People’s Army (FARC-EP), on June 23, 2016.

The Inter-American Commission welcomes the agreement as a critical step toward ending the armed conflict that has afflicted Colombia for more than half a century, and looks forward to the prompt signing of the definitive agreement with full respect for human rights. It is the Commission’s conviction that the consolidation of peace is an essential prerequisite for the exercise of and respect for human rights.

Commissioner Jesús Orozco Henríquez, the IACHR Rapporteur for Colombia, stated: “In the light of such a momentous agreement, it is important to bear in mind that truth, justice, and reparation for victims of human rights violations, as well as security guarantees for those who turn in their arms and those who defend human rights, are essential elements to ensure that this will be a stable and lasting peace.”

The Commission reiterates its commitment to the people of Colombia to follow this process closely and once again recognizes the efforts undertaken by the State and the progress made in the negotiations. It urges the parties to ensure that the transition to peace, as well as the implementation of the agreements that are reached, are carried out with full respect for human rights.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 090/16