IACHR Announces Calendar of Public Hearings for 181st Period of Sessions

October 13, 2021

Related links

Calendar of public hearings

Contact info

IACHR Press Office

[email protected]

Distribution List

Subscribe to our distribution list

Washington, D.C.- The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) published the calendar of public hearings that will take place as part of the 181st Period of Sessions, which will be held virtually from the 18 to 29 of October 2021. The public hearings will take place from the 21 to the 28 of October

In addition, during the 181st Period of Sessions, meetings will be held with the civil society to receive information on the human rights situation in the countries of the region. These meetings will be held simultaneously, in a virtual format, on October 25, 2021, between 3:45 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. (EST).

In accordance with the provisions of Article 68 of the IACHR Rules of Procedure, the hearings will be public, unless exceptional circumstances justify their privacy. The hearings will broadcast on the Zoom platform and through the IACHR's Facebook account, except for one of them, which will be of a private nature in accordance with article 68 referred before and is referenced in the annex to this press release. Accredited individuals and organizations that require interpretation and subtitles must register for the corresponding hearings on the Zoom platform, whose link can be found in the hearing calendar.

The IACHR will notify the parties in a timely manner of the connection details and security guidelines for the public hearings, working meetings and meetings with civil society that will be held during the 181st Period of Sessions.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 271/21

1:00 PM