Caribbean Emergency Legislation

Database on Emergency Legislation in the Caribbean

The Department of Sustainable Development (DSD) of the General Secretariat of the Organization of American States (GS/OAS), with the support of the World Bank, is the executing for the Caribbean Emergency Legislation Project. A significant component of the project involves identifying relevant constitutional provisions and legislation pertaining to natural disasters and the declaration of a state of emergency in the event of a natural disaster

The DSD has created a database with relevant constitutional and legislative provisions from the 12 project countries Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.This database is expected to serve as valuable resource in building legislative capacity to enhance legal and institutional frameworks for state of emergency in the Caribbean.


►Constitutional Provisions- Declaration of a State of Emergency

►Disaster and State of Emergency Legislation in the Caribbean