Introduction to the province/state's legal system

Saskatchewan is a Canadian province. It has a provincial legislature, which is responsible for making laws to deal with local, i.e. provincial matters. The range of law-making powers of the Legislature is set out in Canada's *Constitution Act*, 1867.

Saskatchewan has a common law tradition.

Canada is a bilingual State with English and French as its two official languages. The majority of residents of Saskatchewan are English-speaking. However, Saskatchewan has a French-language Services Policy that applies to all provincial government ministries, Crown corporations and agencies. Under this Policy, Saskatchewan develops French-language services in priority areas in close consultation with the Francophone community. Saskatchewan will also provide any service in French upon request. Provincial legislation is also available in both official languages.

[See the questionnaire of the federal government of Canada for an introduction to the legal system of Canada].