10/23/2017
English Español Português

 

 


OEA/Ser.G
CP/RES. 963 (1728/09)
11 novembre 2009
Original: espagnol

 


CP/RES. 963 (1728/09)

 

RÈGLEMENT APPELÉ À RÉGIR LE FONCTIONNEMENT DU FONDS

D’AIDE JURIDIQUE DU SYSTÈME INTERAMÉRICAIN  DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE

 

(Résolution adoptée à la séance tenue le 11 novembre 2009)

 

 

LE CONSEIL PERMANENT DE L’ORGANISATION DES ÉTATS AMÉRICAINS,

 

VU:

 

La résolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08) intitulée: «Création du Fonds d’aide juridique au Système interaméricain des droits de la personne»;

 

La résolution AG/RES. 2075 (XXXV-O/05) “Renforcement des systèmes des droits de la personne à titre de suivi du Plan d’action du Troisième Sommet des Amériques” et AG/RES. 2220 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2291 (XXXVII-O/07) et AG/RES. 2407 (XXXVIII-O/08) et AG/RES. 2521 (XXXIX-O/09) «Renforcement des systèmes des droits de la personne à titre de suivi des mandats issus des Sommets des Amériques»;

 

Les résolutions AG/RES. 2128 (XXXV-O/05), AG/RES. 2227 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2290 (XXXVII-O/07) et AG/RES. 2409 (XXXVIII-O/08) et AG/RES. 2522 (XXXIX-O/09) intitulées: «Observations et recommandations relatives au Rapport annuel de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme» et AG/RES. 2223 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2292 (XXXVII-O/07) AG/RES. 2408 (XXXVIII-O/08) et AG/RES. 2500 (XXXVI-O/06) intitulées: «Observations et recommandations relatives au Rapport annuel de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme»,

 

PRENANT EN COMPTE:

 

Que la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme est un organe de l’OEA et a pour tâche, entre autres, d’assurer la supervision des engagements  et obligations contractés par les États membres en vertu de la Déclaration  américaine des droits et devoirs de l’homme et la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme, selon le cas;


 

Que la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme est une institution judiciaire autonome de l’OEA et qu’en vertu de l’alinéa 2 de l’article 26 de son statut, il lui incombe  de gérer son propre budget,

 

CONSIDÉRANT:

 

Que par sa résolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), l’Assemblée générale a demandé au Secrétaire général de créer un fonds spécifique de contributions volontaires dénommé «Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne» (ci-devant «le Fonds d’aide juridique»), qui aurait pour objet de faciliter l’accès au Système interaméricain des droits de la personne, des personnes qui ne disposent actuellement des ressources nécessaires pour soumettre leur cas au  système;

 

Qu’au paragraphe 2 b. du dispositif de la résolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), l’Assemblée générale a décidé que l’administration financière du Fonds d’aide juridique relèvera du Secrétariat général de l’Organisation des États Américains et que son fonctionnement sera régi par le Règlements qu’adoptera le Conseil permanent, lequel devra tracer des procédures claires à suivre pour la reddition de comptes;

 

Que conformément au paragraphe 7 du dispositif  de la résolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), l’Assemblée générale a établi que le Fonds d’aide juridique entrera en vigueur dès que le Conseil permanent aura approuvé son règlement, après des consultations tenues avec la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme et la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme, en prenant en compte les observations de la société civile;

 

Que les consultations pertinentes ont été tenues avec la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme et la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme, et que compte a été aussi tenu des observations de la société civile,

 

DÉCIDE:

 

1.         D’approuver le Règlement appelé à régir le «Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne», reproduit à l’annexe qui fait partie de la présente résolution.  

2.         De désigner le Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne comme un fonds humanitaire, en vertu des dispositions de l’article 80 (i) (C) des Normes générales de fonctionnement du Secrétariat général. 

3.         De charger la Commission des questions administratives et budgétaires (CAAP), dans le cadre du processus de révision des programmes qu’elle mène, d’envisager la possibilité de créer un mécanisme permettant un meilleur financement du système interaméricain des droits de la personne au moyen du programme-budget de l’Organisation, notamment du Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne.  

4.         De demander au Secrétaire général d’assurer la plus grande diffusion possible du Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne.


ANNEXE

 

 

RÈGLEMENT APPELÉ À RÉGIR LE FONCTIONNEMENT

«FONDS D’AIDE JURIDIQUE DU SYSTÈME INTERAMÉRICAIN

DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE»

 

 

ARTICLE 1

OBJET

 

1.1.      Le Fonds d’aide juridique du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne (ci-devant le Fonds) a pour objet de faciliter l’accès au système interaméricain des droits de la personne des personnes qui ne disposent pas actuellement des ressources nécessaires pour porter leur cas devant le système.

 

1.2.      Le fonctionnement du Fonds n’exonère pas l’Organisation des États Américains (OEA) de son obligation de garantir le financement du Système interaméricain des droits de la personne à l’aide de ressources du Fonds ordinaire.

 

1.3.      Les contributions au Fonds n’empêchent pas d’autres apports volontaires ou la constitution d’autres fonds spécifiques destinés à financer le fonctionnement de la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme (ci-devant la Cour), et de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme (ci-devant la Commission), de ses programmes et du «Fonds d’investissement de contributions volontaires Oliver Jackman».

 

 

ARTICLE 2

RESSOURCES

 

2.1.      Le fonds est alimenté par:

 

a.         Les contributions volontaires d’investissement versées par les États membres de l’OEA, les Observateurs permanents et d’autres États et donateurs qui souhaitent collaborer avec le Fonds, conformément à l’article intitulé: «Fonds spécifiques» des Normes générales de fonctionnement du Secrétariat général de l’OEA,

 

b.         les recettes découlant des investissements et des intérêts des contributions d’investissement prévus au paragraphe 2.1 a.
 

ARTICLE 3

RÉPARTITIONS

 

3.1.      Le fonds disposera de deux comptes séparés qui seront dénommés:

 

a.         Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme,

 

b.         Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme.

 

3.2       Dans chacun des cas, les comptes susmentionnés recevront les contributions versées à chacun des organes du Système interaméricain des droits de l’homme. Lorsque la destination de la contribution n’a pas été déterminée, il est entendu que cinquante pour cent de celle-ci seront acheminés à chacun des organes.

 

3.3       Le Secrétaire général de l’OEA soumet un rapport annuel au Conseil permanent qui reflétera les activités du Fonds, les contributions reçues durant l’année correspondante et la situation financière.

 

ARTICLE 4

AIDE JURIDIQUE

 

4.1       L’approbation de l’aide juridique sera déterminée par la Cour et la Commission, selon le cas, à la lumière des règlements établis par chacun des organes dans ce but.

 

4.2       À ces fins, lesdits règlements pourraient prendre en compte, entre autres, les aspects suivants:

 

a.                   les procédures propres à assurer que les bénéficiaires potentiels reçoivent le support en temps utile et selon les modalités prévues.

 

b.                  La mise en place d’un système gratuit de désignation d’avocats d’office  au sein des deux organes pour venir en aide aux personnes qui en ont besoin, en fonction des ressources allouées par le Fonds.

 

c.                   Que les bénéficiaires potentiels démontrent qu’ils ont besoin de ces ressources.

 

d.                  L’examen de mécanismes et de procédures pour le remboursement des coûts au Fonds par la Cour, au cas où ceux-ci ont été assumés par le Fonds.

 

e.                   Veiller à ce que l’aide parvienne aux victimes de tous les États et prenne en compte des critères d’objectivité de sélection, de diversité et de pluralité dans leur représentation.

 

ARTICLE 5

ADMINISTRATION DES RESSOURCES DU COMPTE

 «COUR INTERAMÉRICAINE DES DROITS DE L’HOMME» DU FONDS

 

5.1       Selon les termes de l’Accord intervenu entre le Secrétariat général de l’OEA et la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme sur le fonctionnement administratif du Secrétariat de la Cour, souscrit le 1er janvier 1998 (ci-devant l’Accord), la Cour assurera la gestion des ressources que reçoit le Secrétariat général de l’OEA provenant du compte «Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme» du Fonds.

 

5.2.      La Cour:

 

a.         encourage la canalisation des ressources et négocie avec les donateurs, le cas échéant, les termes et les conditions des contributions et accepte les contributions à son compte, en fonction de la finalité du Fonds et en conformité avec la Charte de l’OEA et la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme, sans préjudice des décisions, normes et procédures du Secrétariat général de l’OEA, en vertu du mandat  reçu de l’Assemblée générale en ce qui concerne l’administration financière du Fonds;

 

b.         administre les «ressources» du compte «Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme» du Fonds de manière indépendante en ce qui concerne les fonds destinés au fonctionnement du Tribunal; c’est pourquoi il sera tenu une comptabilité autonome et elle effectuera un audit indépendant, similaire à celui qui est défini à l’article II.2 de l’Accord;

 

c.         soumet au Conseil permanent, par le truchement de sa Commission des questions juridiques et politiques, et au Secrétariat général de l’OEA un rapport annuel de nature spécifique et indépendant de son propre Rapport annuel sur le compte de la «Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme» du Fonds correspondant, reflétant les activités de celui-ci, les contributions reçues durant l’année pertinente et la situation financière.

 

ARTICLE 6

ADMINISTRATION FINANCIÈRE  DU COMPTE

«COMMISSION INTERAMÉRICAINE DES DROITS DE L’HOMME» DU FONDS

 

6.1       Le Secrétariat général prend à sa charge l’administration financière du Compte «Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme» du Fonds, conformément aux normes et procédures qui régissent le Secrétariat général de l’OEA.

 

ARTICLE 7

ADMINISTRATION FINANCIÈRE DU FONDS

 

7.1.      Le Secrétariat général prend à sa charge l’administration financière du Fonds, conformément à ses normes et procédures, notamment de l’Accord.

 

7.2.      Le Secrétariat général de l’OEA:

 

a.         accepte les contributions conformément à la finalité du Fonds et dans la ligne de a Charte de l’OEA et de la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme;

 

b.         négocie avec les donateurs, en consultation avec la Commission ou la Cour, selon le cas, les termes et conditions des donations, en harmonie avec la finalité du Fonds et les objectifs de l’OEA;

 

c.         encourage la collecte et la mobilisation de ressources pour les deux comptes du Fonds, sans préjudice des initiatives propres prises par la Cour et la Commission en ce sens et il soumettra un rapport périodique au Conseil permanent sur le résultat de ses démarches;

 

d.         soumet un rapport annuel à l’Assemblée générale durant chacune de ses sessions ordinaire, lequel reflètera les activités du Fonds, les contributions reçues durant l’année correspondante et sa situation financière. Ce compte rendu fera partie du Rapport annuel de vérification des comptes et des états financiers;

 

e.         veille à ce que les comptes du Fonds fassent l’objet d’une vérification annuelle que mène le Secrétariat général de l’OEA et les résultats seront présentés dans le rapport annuel  à la Commission des vérificateurs extérieurs.

 

ARTICLE 8
VALIDITÉ, MODIFICATION ET ANNULATION

 

8.1       Le présent Règlement entre en vigueur immédiatement une fois qu’il a été approuvé par le Conseil permanent.

 

8.2       Le présent Règlement peut être modifié ou annulé par le Conseil permanent de sa propre initiative ou à la demande du Secrétaire général qui tiendra compte de l’avis préalable de la Cour et de Commission.


 


Copyright © 2017 Tous droits réservés. Organisation des États Américains

11/18/2017
Español Français Português

 

OEA/Ser.G
CP/RES. 963 (1728/09)
11 November 2009
Original: Spanish

 

CP/RES. 963 (1728/09)

 

RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR THE OPERATION OF THE

LEGAL ASSISTANCE FUND OF THE INTER-AMERICAN

HUMAN RIGHTS SYSTEM

 (Adopted at the meeting of November 11, 2009) 

 

THE PERMANENT COUNCIL OF THE ORGANIZATION OF AMERICAN STATES,

 

HAVING SEEN:

 

Resolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), “Establishment of the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System”; 

Resolution AG/RES. 2075 (XXXV-O/05), “Strengthening of Human Rights Systems pursuant to the Plan of Action of the Third Summit of the Americas,” and resolutions AG/RES. 2220 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2291 (XXXVII-O/07), AG/RES. 2407 (XXXVIII-O/08), and AG/RES. 2521 (XXXIX-O/09), “Strengthening of Human Rights Systems pursuant to the Mandates Arising from the Fourth Summit of the Americas”; and 

Resolutions AG/RES. 2128 (XXXV-O/05), AG/RES. 2227 (XXXVI-O/06),  AG/RES. 2290 (XXXVII-O/07), AG/RES. 2409 (XXXVIII-O/08), and AG/RES. 2522 (XXXIX-O/09), “Observations and Recommendations on the Annual Report of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights,” and resolutions AG/RES. 2223 (XXXVI-O/06), AG/RES. 2292 (XXXVII-O/07), AG/RES. 2408 (XXXVIII-O/08), and AG/RES. 2500 (XXXIX-O/09), “Observations and Recommendations on the Annual Report of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights”, 

BEARING IN MIND: 

That the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights is an organ of the OAS and included in its functions is oversight of the commitments and obligations assumed by the member states under the American Declaration on the Rights and Duties of Man and the American Convention on Human Rights, as applicable; and 

That the Inter-American Court of Human Rights is an autonomous judicial institution of the OAS, and by virtue of Article 26(2) of its Statute, it manages its own budget, 

 

 CONSIDERING:
 

That the General Assembly, through resolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), requested the Secretary General to establish a specific fund for voluntary contributions to be called the “Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System” (hereinafter “the Legal Assistance Fund”), to facilitate access to the inter-American human rights system by persons who currently lack the resources needed to bring their cases before the system;

 

That, through operative paragraph 2.b of resolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), the General Assembly agreed that financial management of the Legal Assistance Fund shall be entrusted to the General Secretariat of the OAS, and its operations shall be governed by rules of procedure adopted by the Permanent Council, which shall contain clear accountability procedures;

 

That, according to operative paragraph 7 of resolution AG/RES. 2426 (XXXVIII-O/08), the General Assembly established that the Legal Assistance Fund shall take effect once the Permanent Council adopted its rules of procedure, after consulting with the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, taking into account the observations made by civil society; and 

That the respective consultations have been held with the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and with the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, and the observations of civil society have been taken into account, 

RESOLVES:
 

1.         To adopt the Rules of Procedure for the Operation of the “Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System” established in the Annex, which is part of this resolution.

 

2.         To designate the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System as a Humanitarian Fund pursuant to Article 80(i)(C) of the General Standards to Govern the Operations of the General Secretariat.
 

3.         To instruct the Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Affairs (CAAP) to study, within its current process of program review, the possibility of establishing a mechanism which would allow enhanced funding of the inter-American human rights system, through the program-budget of the OAS, including the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System.

 

4.         To request the Secretary General to publicize the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System as extensively as possible.


 

ANNEX

 

RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR THE OPERATION OF THE “LEGAL ASSISTANCE

FUND OF THE INTER-AMERICAN HUMAN RIGHTS SYSTEM”

 

 

ARTICLE 1

PURPOSE

 

1.1       The purpose of the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights system (hereinafter, the Fund) is to facilitate access to the inter-American system of human rights by persons who currently lack the resources needed to bring their cases before the system.

 

1.2       Operation of the Legal Assistance Fund of the Inter-American Human Rights System does not exonerate the OAS from its obligation to guarantee funding of the inter-American human rights system with resources from the Regular Fund.

 

1.3       Contributions to the Fund do not preclude other voluntary contributions or the establishment of other specific funds to finance the operation of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (hereafter, the Court) and the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (hereafter, the Commission), their programs, or the “Oliver Jackman Voluntary Capital Fund.”

 

 

ARTICLE 2

RESOURCES

 

2.1       The Fund shall be comprised of:

 

a)         Voluntary capital contributions from the member states of the OAS, the permanent observer states, and other states and donors that may wish to collaborate with the Fund, pursuant to the Article on “Specific Funds” of the General Standards to Govern the Operations of the General Secretariat of the OAS;

 

b)         Yields from investments and interest accrued on the capital contributions established in paragraph 2.1 (a). 

 

ARTICLE 3

DISTRIBUTIONS

 

3.1       The Fund shall maintain two separate accounts, which shall be called:

 

a)         Inter-American Court of Human Rights; and

 

b)         Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

3.2       Contributions made to each of these two bodies in the inter-American system of human rights shall be deposited in the appropriate account.  Contributions made without specifying which body they are for shall be construed as contributions to be split equally between the two.

 

3.3       The Secretary General of the OAS shall submit an annual report to the Permanent Council reflecting the activities of the Fund, the contributions received during the corresponding year, and the Fund’s financial position.

 

ARTICLE 4

LEGAL ASSISTANCE

 

4.1              Approval of legal assistance shall be determined by the Court and the Commission, as the case may be, in accordance with regulations that each of these institutions shall issue to that end.

 

4.2              To that end, the aforementioned regulations could take into account, inter alia, the following:

 

a)                  Procedures that ensure that the potential beneficiaries receive support in due time and form.

 

b)               The establishment of a system for free defense counsel in both organs, for persons who need it, in accordance with the resources allocated by each Fund.

 

c)               Proven need for these resources by the potential beneficiaries.

 

d)               Consideration of mechanisms and procedures for the Court to reimburse costs to the Fund, in the event that the Fund has defrayed said costs.

 

e)               That assistance be provided to victims from all states based on criteria of objectivity in selection, and diversity and plurality in the representation of victims.

 

 

ARTICLE 5

MANAGEMENT OF FUNDS IN

THE “INTER-AMERICAN COURT OF HUMAN RIGHTS” ACCOUNT

 

5.1       The Court shall administer funds received by the General Secretariat of the OAS from the “Inter-American Court of Human Rights” account of the Legal Assistance Fund, according to the Agreement between the General Secretariat of the OAS and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights on the Administrative Functioning of the Secretariat of the Court, signed January 1, 1998 (hereinafter the Agreement). 

 

 

5.2  The Court:

 

a)                  Shall promote fundraising and, when appropriate, shall negotiate with donors the terms and conditions of donations and shall accept contributions to its account that are consistent with the purpose of the Fund and with the Charter of the OAS and the American Convention on Human Rights, without prejudice to the decisions, rules, and procedures of the General Secretariat of the OAS, and by virtue of the mandate received from the General Assembly for the financial management of the Fund.

 

b)                  Shall administer funds in the “Inter-American Court of Human Rights” account separately from the funds for the operation of the Court itself.  For this purpose it shall maintain separate accounting and shall conduct an independent audit of the account, similar to that which is defined in Article II.2 of the Agreement.

 

c)                  Shall present to the Permanent Council, through its Committee on Juridical and Political Affairs, and the General Secretariat of the OAS, and separately from its Annual Report of activities, a specific annual report on the “Inter-American Court of Human Rights” account, which shall reflect the activities of the account, contributions received during the corresponding year, and the account’s financial position.

 

ARTICLE 6

FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT OF THE

“INTER-AMERICAN COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS” ACCOUNT

 

6.1       The General Secretariat of the OAS shall conduct financial management of the “Inter-American Commission on Human Rights” account of the Legal Assistance Fund, according to its rules and procedures.

 

ARTICLE 7

FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT OF THE FUND

 

7.1       The General Secretariat of the OAS shall conduct financial management of the Fund in accordance with its rules and procedures, including the Agreement.

 

7.2       The General Secretariat of the OAS:

 

a)         Shall accept contributions that are in keeping with the purpose of the Fund, in accordance with the Charter of the OAS and the American Convention on Human Rights.

 

b)         Shall negotiate the terms and conditions of donations with donors, in consultation with the Commission or the Court, as the case may be, that are consistent with the purpose of the Fund and of the OAS.

 

c)         Shall promote fundraising and the mobilization of resources for both accounts of the Fund, without prejudice to the Court and the Commission’s own initiatives in this regard, and shall periodically report to the Permanent Council on the results of these efforts.

 

d)         Shall submit an annual report to the General Assembly during each of its regular sessions, to reflect the activities of the Fund, contributions received during the corresponding year, and the Fund’s financial position. This report shall be part of the Annual Audit Report of Accounts and Financial Statements.

 

e)         The Fund’s accounts shall be subject to the annual audit conducted by the General Secretariat of the OAS, and the results shall be included in the annual report of the Board of External Auditors.

  

ARTICLE 8
ENTRY INTO FORCE, AMENDMENTS, AND REVOCATION
 

8.1       These rules of procedure shall enter into force immediately upon their adoption by the Permanent Council. 

8.2       These rules of procedure may be amended or revoked by the Permanent Council at its own initiative or by recommendation of the Secretary General who shall take into account the opinions of the Court and the Commission.

 


 

 

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved. Organization of American States