menu7Back.gif (6479 bytes)


uruguay.jpg (4557 bytes)


Political System and Government

    Uruguay is politically organized as a democratic republic under a presidential system. The State is organized in three independent powers: Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary.

    In accordance with the present Constitution, the members of the government are elected every five years under a universal vote system. The Executive Power is in the hands of a President and a cabinet of 12 ministers. The Legislative Power is represented by the General Assembly, or Parliament, composed of the chamber of Senators and the Lower Chamber (House of Representatives). The Judiciary Power consists of the Supreme Court of Justice, courts and judges on a nationwide basis.*

* Source: "Doing Business in Uruguay", Chapter1. "Uruguay- A Profile", Uruguay XXI, June 30th, 2002. Information provided by the Permanent Mission of Uruguay to the OAS.