menu7Back.gif (6479 bytes)

      Nicaragua.jpg (3612 bytes)



   The government has a president, vice president, and cabinet that form the executive branch. The National Assembly has 90 members. They are directly elected to serve five year terms. The voting age is 16. In addition there is the Judicial Branch, which includes the Supreme Court of Justice, and the Electoral Branch, which includes the Supreme Electoral Council and is charged with overseeing and ensuring elections.*

* Source: Permanent Mission of Nicaragua to the OAS. 



Updated: 16 June 2008

menubottom.gif (7627 bytes)