menu7Back.gif (6479 bytes)

ecuador.jpg (3794 bytes)

   EcuadorMap.gif (3465 bytes)



The Republic of Ecuador is a representative democracy. Its government is divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. There is also an autonomous electoral agency called the “Tribunal Supremo Electoral.” The country is separated into 21 provinces each of which is further divided into administrative cantons and parroquias. The President of the Republic presides over the executive branch and represents the State. He is elected for a four year term by popular vote – one ballot for the President and one for the Vice President. He is also the Commander-In-Chief of the Armed Forces. Ecuador has a unicameral Congress. Congressmen are elected during multi-party elections and represent one of Ecuador’s 21 provinces. The President of the Congress is chosen by the Party that receives the highest percentage of the national vote in Congress. The President of Congress ranks just under the President and Vice-President of the Republic. The judicial system is comprised of administrative, trial, appellate, and a Supreme Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the land, and has 30 equally significant justices presiding. Supreme Court justices, like that of the United States, are elected for life terms.




Updated: 9 April 2008