menu7Back.gif (6479 bytes)

 canada.jpg (3921 bytes)






1. Area in square kilometers: 9,970,610 kmē*

3. Capital: Ottawa, in the province of Ontario*

4. Languages: English and French (Official languages)*

5. Date of OAS membership: January 8, 1990*

6. Description of Canada:

    Canada is the world's second largest country by total area, sharing borders with the United States to the south and northwest. It extends from the Pacific Ocean on the west, to the Atlantic on the east and the Arctic Ocean to the north. Canada is a federation, composed of ten provinces and three territories. It is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state.

7. History:

8. Government:

9. National Heroes: Emily Murphy; Sir Frederick Banting; Terry Fox; Rosemary Brown*

10. Economy:

11. Photographs

* Source: Permanent Mission of the Canada to the OAS



Updated: 22 May 2008